Restoration + Recovery

When I say he is an on time God.

I mean it.

Today, my family and I visited a new church. Baby Bryson was being christened which lead us to Cornerstone Church. Lately I have been on a spiritual trip. I have been feeling so B•E•Y•O•N•D situations and people. I have walked away from situations, feelings, and relationships that I plan to never revisit.

Today, I received even more confirmation, which has left me even more confident about my decision to remove toxicity and the undeserving.

That does not mean that I have it completely together and everything is in order; it just means that I am working. Working on becoming a better me.

Senior Pastor Freddie Washington fed my spirit and capitalized on being connected to the right people. He stressed that we need people in our lives that will make themselves enemies of our disfunction. Not people (“an accomplice”) that condone our disfunction.

An accomplist is defined as someone that is your partner in crime. Someone that helps you do what you do. They help make what you are doing okay.

We need people in our lives that knows that we are better than what we are dumbing ourselves down to be. They help defy our disfunction.

He then stressed how it was time to change some things up. It dawned on me; I gained understanding of why God was leading me every which of way… giving me the urge to dissect… the hunger to be cleansed of toxicity and the undeserving. New seasons can sometimes declare an upgrade in friendships, relationships, and accomplices. As chaotic as it seems, we have to be patient with the process. It is not for us to always fully understand what God is doing. Sometimes he rids things or alters things to prepare us for our next best thing.

He said, “Many of y’all have kept some people in your life whose time has run up.

Seasonal people. Time up. Significance up.

Season’s up.”

Glory to God! We fight to stay in our comfort zones so we continue to tolerate even in the midst of being 1000% unsupportive of something. We try to save feelings. Save dead relationships. Safe love that’s been gone. And love that never lived there.

That is what you should expect when you are on the road to restoration + recovery.

-xoxo Demi Lew

Leave a comment